BSBMTCT Clinical Trials Sub-Committee


The Clinical Trials Sub Committee (CTSC) of the British Society of Blood and Marrow Transplantation and Cellular Therapy (BSBMTCT) in partnership with the IMPACT BMT Clinical Trials Network is making the second call for outline proposals from prospective UK Chief Investigators for innovative early phase clinical trials in allogeneic and autologous stem cell transplantation.

The IMPACT BMT Trials Network consists of 22 UK centres committed to delivering a number of high quality, practice-changing clinical trials with the Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit (CRCTU) at the University of Birmingham being the network hub.

IMPACT will particularly focus on randomised Phase II and Phase III trials addressing a variety of important issues in stem cell transplantation including transplant conditioning, graft-versus-host disease, post-transplant disease management and supportive care.  Proposals must be readily deliverable in a multi-centre format within the UK BMT network.   Proposals are expected for, but are not restricted to the most common indications for transplant including acute leukaemia, myeloma and lymphoma.  Studies investigating stem cell transplants in non-malignant disorders can also be considered.  Collaboration with industry is encouraged.

Outline proposals should be submitted to the BSBMTCT CTSC for initial informal discussion with the BSBMTCT CTSC Chair and the Medical Director of IMPACT.  There will be at least two calls for proposals per year. Selection of proposals for funding by IMPACT will follow a formal process of competitive external review with successful proposals to be automatically adopted into the NIHR trials portfolio.  It is expected that 3 trials per year over a 4 year period will be approved.

Our aim is to support a structure and culture in the UK of collaborative research which effectively and efficiently delivers transplant trials that improve patient care.  Please feel free to contact us if we can do anything to help.



Ram Malladi

(CTSC Chair)

Victoria Potter

(CTSC Secretary)

Julia Lee

(Head of BSBMTCT Registry)

Rachel Pearce

(BSBMTCT Statistician)


Prof Ronjon Chakraverty

(IMPACT Medical Director)

Dr Victoria Potter

(IMPACT Deputy Medical Director)

Dr Wendy Ingram

(IMPACT Deputy Medical Director)

IMPACT Website:


SOP for Retrospective BSBMTCT Registry Studies FINAL –
please see BSBMTCT_CTC_SOP_for_Retrospective_BSBMTCT_Registry_Studies 2020

CTSC Authorship policy – please see BSBMTCT_CTC_AUTHORSHIP_POLICY 2020

CTSC Study Proposal Template – please see BSBMTCT_CTC_Study_Proposal_Template_2020

CTSC Study Chair Commitment For Studies Document – please see BSBMTCT_CTC_Study_Chair_Commitment_For_Studies 2020

Upcoming BSBMTCT CTSC Meetings



Latest newsletter: January 2022

Select newsletter to download